Carrying the colors of SMART/MVP Sports Foundation, the Philippine taekwondo team for Kyorugi (sparring) and Poomsae (forms) will vie in the prestigious 2018 Korea Open Championships on July 18-24 in Jeju, Korea.

Arven Alcantara, one of the Korea-bound PH team’s fighters, delivers a turning side kick at his opponent in a recent competition

Five officials and 29 athletes—10 male and 9 female in Kyorugi and 10 male and female in Poomsae—make up the PH squad which will see action against bets from 60 countries such as Korea, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Germany, France and Spain, among others.

The PH team members are:

Officials—Dindo Simpao, John Paul Lizardo, Rani Ann Ortega, Lee Taesang and Jung Manseo (Korean coach).

Kyorugi: Male—Rommel Pablo (-48kg), Jenar Torillos (-58kg), Francis Aaron Agojo (-63kg), Keno Anthony Mendoza (-63kg), Arven Alcantara (-58kg), Lorenz Chavez (-58kg), Dave Cea (-74kg), Samuel Thomas Harper Morrison (-80kg), Keybert Lumbania (-87) and Kristopher Robert Uy (+87kg); Female-- Abigail Faye Valdez (-46), Veronica Garces (-46kg), Karen Cells (-46kg), Baby Jessica Canabal (-49kg), Rhezie Aragon (-53kg), Rheza Aragon (-53kg), Pauline Louise Lopez (-57kg), Darlene Mae Arpon (-62kg) and Kirstie Elaine Alora (+73kg).

Poomsae: Juvenile Faye Crisostomo, Rinna Babanto, Jocel Lyn Ninobla, Janna Dominique Oliva, Dustin Jacob Mella, Raphael Enrico Mella, Rodolfo Reyes Jr., Jeordan Dominguez, Patrick King Perez and Mark Lorenz Balcita.

The competition serves as a tuneup for the PH athletes’ participation in the forthcoming Asian Games in Indonesia.

The Filipinos have always been considered among the top contenders in tough international events like the Korea Open. The PH team, supported by PLDT, Meralco, Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Olympic Committee and Milo, is well prepared for the tourney.



Date: July 10, 2018  | Newspaper: Manila Standard | Source: