THE second leg of the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Visayas Open capped off successfully in the City of Naga, south Cebu over the weekend.

The PSC Visayas office revealed the winning athletes in the karatedo, air rifle, boxing, and badminton that was held in various venues around the city.

In the newly added air rifle event, Liza Badallos (22-under), Monse Badallos (16-under girls), and Fritz Delostrico (16-under boys) were named the winners. The air rifle event was added by the PSC Visayas as part to introduce the modern pentathlon event.

The modern pentathlon, which is an Olympic event, is comprised of open water swimming, air rifle, long distance run, fencing, and equestrian.

PSC brought in air rifle, open water swimming, and fencing as a demo sport in the two-day event in the City of Naga. The official results of the open water swimming have yet to be announced.

In the karatedo event, the gold medalists karatekas of Cebu City are Marie Pauleen Cabrera ASKS Cebu City, Rhaiza Dawn Hapita, Dona Concepcion Cayabyab, Enzo Nirel Hipulan, Domico Sucalit, and RJ Monterde.

Mandaue City’s gold medalists in karatedo are Dyana Reggie Gonzaga, Christine Marie Sacedon, Jowin May Nudalo, Moonyen Fernandez, Inno Daniel Cuarto, John Harold Batuigas, and Kyle Calunod.

The rest of the gold medalists in the karatedo event are Giovannie Apuya and Jiel Cabuenas of Talisay City, Clark Khent Pontillas of Dumaguete City, John Lenvert Calope and Francis Kirby Brutas of Lapu-Lapu City, Johanes Pioquinto of University Of Cebu – Lapu-Lapu and Mandaue (UCLM), Eliana Marie Contiga of Bacolod, Aubrey del Codilla of University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R), and Zaki Louis Bullo of UC-Main campus.

Lawn tennis gold medalists are Noells Elna Beronio, Jonathan Largo, Lyrah Mae Repollo, Vinz Lominoque, and Zethley Mae Alferez.

In badminton, the gold medalists are Hailene Reeze Diaz, Gian Arante, Margarette Jacalan, Shimron Candelaria, Zinah Bejasa, and Mike Maratas.

Eduardo Jimenez, Alexander Bonita, Ysabel Enriquez, John Carlo Dumaguit, Romie Evale, Jesriel Bonghanoy, Jefferson Trazo, Dexter Lorovice, and Marvin Birao are the gold medalists in the boxing event.

On July 14-15, PSC Visayas will go to Panglao, Bohol for the third leg of the PSC Visayas Open.



Date: July 10, 2018 | By: Glendale Rosal | Newspaper: Cebu Daily News | Source: